ELT-43008 Digital Communication, 5 cr

Toteutuskerta ELT-43008 2019-01

Kuvaus

This course focuses on the digital information transmission and signal processing techniques utilized in all widely-used and emerging digital communication systems, such as mobile cellular networks, WLAN/WiFi networks, digital TV, ADSL/VDSL and satellite communications. These techniques include error control coding, digital modulation, filtering, channel equalization, and demodulation/detection.

Opetus

Periodi 3 - 4
Opetusmuodot Luento, Tentti, Laboratoriotyö, Harjoitusryhmä
Vastuuhenkilö Taneli Riihonen, Mikko Valkama

Arvosteluasteikko

Numerical evaluation scale (0-5)

Suoritusvaatimukset

Mandatory requirements: Exam or two midterm exams and Matlab project. It is also possible to pass the course (with grade 1) without taking the exam, by actively attending the learning events and completing the project work.

The assessment is primarily based on the exam (or two partial exams) which, together with the quality of the project work, are targeted to measuring the knowledge gained in the core contents. Also active participation in learning sessions has a positive effect on the grading. Grade 3 can be reached by showing good command of the core contents. Fluent/profound understanding of core contents, along with elements of complementary knowledge, are required for grades 4 and 5. With minor gaps in the core knowledge, grades 2 and 1 are possible. With significant gaps in the core knowledge or insufficient project work, the student is not able to pass the course.

Kohderyhmät

Automation Engineering/Machine Automation , Electrical Engineering , Information Technology , International Students , Sähkötekniikka , Tietotekniikka

Exam Tue 05.05.2020 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-43008 Digital Communication/Lec/01 Wed 08.01.2020 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-43008 Digital Communication/Lec/01 Wed 15.01.2020 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-43008 Digital Communication/Lec/01 Wed 22.01.2020 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-43008 Digital Communication/Lec/01 Wed 29.01.2020 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-43008 Digital Communication/Lec/01 Wed 05.02.2020 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-43008 Digital Communication/Lec/01 Wed 12.02.2020 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-43008 Digital Communication/Lec/01 Wed 19.02.2020 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-43008 Digital Communication/Lec/01 Wed 04.03.2020 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-43008 Digital Communication/Lec/01 Wed 11.03.2020 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-43008 Digital Communication/Lec/01 Wed 18.03.2020 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-43008 Digital Communication/Lec/01 Wed 25.03.2020 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-43008 Digital Communication/Lec/01 Wed 01.04.2020 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-43008 Digital Communication/Lec/01 Wed 15.04.2020 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-43008 Digital Communication/Lec/01 Wed 22.04.2020 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-43008 Digital Communication/Lab01/01 Tue 28.01.2020 15:00 - 17:00
ELT-43008 Digital Communication/Lab01/01 Tue 11.02.2020 15:00 - 17:00
ELT-43008 Digital Communication/Lab01/01 Tue 17.03.2020 15:00 - 17:00
ELT-43008 Digital Communication/Lab01/01 Tue 24.03.2020 15:00 - 17:00
ELT-43008 Digital Communication/Lab01/01 Tue 07.04.2020 15:00 - 17:00
ELT-43008 Digital Communication/EG01/01 Mon 20.01.2020 15:00 - 17:00
ELT-43008 Digital Communication/EG01/01 Mon 27.01.2020 15:00 - 17:00
ELT-43008 Digital Communication/EG01/01 Mon 03.02.2020 15:00 - 17:00
ELT-43008 Digital Communication/EG01/01 Mon 10.02.2020 15:00 - 17:00
ELT-43008 Digital Communication/EG01/01 Mon 17.02.2020 15:00 - 17:00
ELT-43008 Digital Communication/EG01/01 Mon 02.03.2020 15:00 - 17:00
ELT-43008 Digital Communication/EG01/01 Mon 09.03.2020 15:00 - 17:00
ELT-43008 Digital Communication/EG01/01 Mon 16.03.2020 15:00 - 17:00
ELT-43008 Digital Communication/EG01/01 Mon 23.03.2020 15:00 - 17:00
ELT-43008 Digital Communication/EG01/01 Mon 30.03.2020 15:00 - 17:00
ELT-43008 Digital Communication/EG01/01 Mon 06.04.2020 15:00 - 17:00
ELT-43008 Digital Communication/EG02/01 (*) Thu 23.04.2020 16:00 - 18:00

Oppimateriaali

Tyyppi Nimi Tekijä ISBN Lisätiedot Kieli Tenttimateriaali
Book Digital Communication (J.R. Barry,) E. A . Lee and D. G. Messerschmitt 1.-3. Editions, Kluwer Academic Publishers Suomi No
Summary of lectures Digital Communication Mikko Valkama, Markku Renfors Comprehensive lecture notes of the course contents English Yes