ELT-41308 Communication Theory, 5 cr

Toteutuskerta ELT-41308 2019-01

Kuvaus

This course focuses on the most fundamental elements, processing methods and laws and boundaries stemming from the nature that are encountered in all communication systems (Internet, mobile radio networks, WLANs/WiFi, etc.). These include the concepts of filtering and modulation and phenomena like noise, distortion and interference. Also fundamental information theoretic bounds applicable to all communication systems are covered, and how they are related to fundamental concepts like bandwidth, energy and noise power.

Opetus

Periodi 1 - 2
Opetusmuodot Luento, Tentti, Harjoitusryhmä
Vastuuhenkilö Mikko Valkama

Arvosteluasteikko

Numerical evaluation scale (0-5)

Suoritusvaatimukset

Exam and a personal project work. It is also possible to pass the course without taking the exam, by actively attending the learning events. More details will be provided on the course website. The exam and the project work should be done during the same academic year.

Kohderyhmät

Automaatiotekniikka , Automation Engineering/Machine Automation , Electrical Engineering , Information Technology , International Students , Science and Engineering, BSc (Tech) , Sähkötekniikka , Tietotekniikka

Lisätietoja toteutuksesta

Course material is available on the course web page http://www.cs.tut.fi/courses/ELT-41307/

Exam Thu 12.12.2019 13:00 - 16:00
Exam Wed 05.02.2020 17:00 - 20:00
Exam Tue 31.03.2020 17:00 - 20:00
ELT-41308 Communication Theory/Lec/01 Thu 29.08.2019 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-41308 Communication Theory/Lec/01 Thu 05.09.2019 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-41308 Communication Theory/Lec/01 Thu 12.09.2019 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-41308 Communication Theory/Lec/01 Thu 19.09.2019 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-41308 Communication Theory/Lec/01 Thu 26.09.2019 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-41308 Communication Theory/Lec/01 Thu 03.10.2019 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-41308 Communication Theory/Lec/01 Thu 10.10.2019 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-41308 Communication Theory/Lec/01 Thu 24.10.2019 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-41308 Communication Theory/Lec/01 Thu 31.10.2019 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-41308 Communication Theory/Lec/01 Thu 07.11.2019 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-41308 Communication Theory/Lec/01 Thu 14.11.2019 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-41308 Communication Theory/Lec/01 Thu 21.11.2019 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-41308 Communication Theory/Lec/01 Thu 28.11.2019 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-41308 Communication Theory/Lec/01 Thu 05.12.2019 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-41308 Communication Theory/EG01/01 Mon 02.09.2019 15:00 - 17:00
ELT-41308 Communication Theory/EG01/01 Mon 09.09.2019 15:00 - 17:00
ELT-41308 Communication Theory/EG01/01 Mon 16.09.2019 15:00 - 17:00
ELT-41308 Communication Theory/EG01/01 Mon 23.09.2019 15:00 - 17:00
ELT-41308 Communication Theory/EG01/01 Mon 30.09.2019 15:00 - 17:00
ELT-41308 Communication Theory/EG01/01 Mon 07.10.2019 15:00 - 17:00
ELT-41308 Communication Theory/EG01/01 Mon 21.10.2019 15:00 - 17:00
ELT-41308 Communication Theory/EG01/01 Mon 28.10.2019 15:00 - 17:00
ELT-41308 Communication Theory/EG01/01 Mon 04.11.2019 15:00 - 17:00
ELT-41308 Communication Theory/EG01/01 Mon 11.11.2019 15:00 - 17:00
ELT-41308 Communication Theory/EG01/01 Mon 18.11.2019 15:00 - 17:00
ELT-41308 Communication Theory/EG01/01 Mon 25.11.2019 15:00 - 17:00
ELT-41308 Communication Theory/EG01/01 Mon 02.12.2019 15:00 - 17:00
ELT-41308 Communication Theory/EG02/01 Wed 04.09.2019 16:00 - 18:00
ELT-41308 Communication Theory/EG02/01 Wed 11.09.2019 16:00 - 18:00
ELT-41308 Communication Theory/EG02/01 Wed 18.09.2019 16:00 - 18:00
ELT-41308 Communication Theory/EG02/01 Wed 25.09.2019 16:00 - 18:00
ELT-41308 Communication Theory/EG02/01 Wed 02.10.2019 16:00 - 18:00
ELT-41308 Communication Theory/EG02/01 Wed 09.10.2019 16:00 - 18:00
ELT-41308 Communication Theory/EG02/01 Wed 23.10.2019 16:00 - 18:00
ELT-41308 Communication Theory/EG02/01 Wed 30.10.2019 16:00 - 18:00
ELT-41308 Communication Theory/EG02/01 Wed 06.11.2019 16:00 - 18:00
ELT-41308 Communication Theory/EG02/01 Wed 13.11.2019 16:00 - 18:00
ELT-41308 Communication Theory/EG02/01 Wed 20.11.2019 16:00 - 18:00
ELT-41308 Communication Theory/EG02/01 Wed 27.11.2019 16:00 - 18:00
ELT-41308 Communication Theory/EG02/01 Wed 04.12.2019 16:00 - 18:00

Oppimateriaali

Tyyppi Nimi Tekijä ISBN Lisätiedot Kieli Tenttimateriaali
Book Communication Systems : An Introduction to Signals and Noise in Electrical Communication A. B. Carlson, P. B. Crilly, J. C. Rutledge 0-07-112175-7 Available in TUT Library, Published by McGraw-Hill English No
Summary of lectures Communication Theory -lecture notes Mikko Valkama Comprehensive lecture notes about the course contents. Available in both English and Finnish English Yes