Studies are arranged in the form of courses. The workload of a course is quantified with an accuracy of one credit. One credit equals 26 and 2/3 hours of work. 1 University credit equals 1 ECTS credit. The teaching methods used during courses may include lectures, exercises, assignments, seminars, independent reading, laboratory work, web-based teaching, multiform study or other appropriate methods. The attainment of course learning outcomes is evaluated in a manner that corresponds to the teaching method. Courses may also have prerequisite knowledge requirements.

The faculties are responsible for the planning, implementation, evaluation and development of courses.

University academic year consists of four periods, two in the autumn semester (periods 1 and 2) and two in the spring semester (periods 3 and 4), and a summer semester. Each period comprises seven weeks of teaching. Exam weeks take place after each period. If the Easter holiday falls on the fourth period, the fourth period will last for 8 calendar weeks. The summer semester lasts for 13 weeks.

Updated by: Kunnari Jaana, 11.1.2019