ELT-41206 Basic Course on Wireless Communications, 5 cr

Implementation ELT-41206 2019-01

Description

This course gives an overview of the wireless communication methods and networks, focusing on first 2 OSI layers: Physical and Medium Access Control (MAC) layer. A wide range of technologies, modulations, and multiplexing schemes will be overviewed, with the scope of getting a good understanding of the today's status related to communication, navigation and wireless networks. Also basic concepts of existing cellular networks (GSM, UMTS/HSPA, LTE) are introduced.

Lessons

Period 1 - 2
Methods of instruction Luento, Tentti, Harjoitustyö
Person responsible Elena-Simona Lohan, Diego Menegazzo, Mikko Valkama

Assessment scale

Numerical evaluation scale (0-5)

Requirements

Exam

Additional information of course implementation

Course webpage.
https://moodle2.tut.fi/course/view.php?id=8974

Lecture 14, Friday 13.th of December 9.00-12.00, room SE203 Fri 13.12.2019 09:00 - 09:00
Exam Tue 17.12.2019 13:00 - 16:00
Exam Tue 28.01.2020 17:00 - 20:00
Exam Tue 10.03.2020 17:00 - 20:00
ELT-41206 Basic Course on Wireless Communications/Lec/01 (*) Fri 30.08.2019 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-41206 Basic Course on Wireless Communications/Lec/01 (*) Fri 06.09.2019 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-41206 Basic Course on Wireless Communications/Lec/01 (*) Fri 13.09.2019 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-41206 Basic Course on Wireless Communications/Lec/01 (*) Fri 20.09.2019 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-41206 Basic Course on Wireless Communications/Lec/01 (*) Fri 27.09.2019 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-41206 Basic Course on Wireless Communications/Lec/01 (*) Fri 04.10.2019 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-41206 Basic Course on Wireless Communications/Lec/01 (*) Fri 11.10.2019 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-41206 Basic Course on Wireless Communications/Lec/01 (*) Fri 25.10.2019 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-41206 Basic Course on Wireless Communications/Lec/01 (*) Fri 01.11.2019 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-41206 Basic Course on Wireless Communications/Lec/01 (*) Fri 08.11.2019 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-41206 Basic Course on Wireless Communications/Lec/01 (*) Fri 15.11.2019 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-41206 Basic Course on Wireless Communications/Lec/01 (*) Fri 22.11.2019 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-41206 Basic Course on Wireless Communications/Lec/01 (*) Fri 29.11.2019 09:00 - 12:00
ELT-41206 Basic Course on Wireless Communications/Lec/01 (*) Fri 13.12.2019 09:00 - 12:00

Study material

Type Name Author ISBN Additional information Language Examination material
Lecture slides Basics of Wireless Communications Tapani Ristaniemi, Markku Renfors, Jarno Niemelä English Yes