TIE-50106 Digital Design, 5 cr

Implementation TIE-50106 2019-01

Description

In this course, you will learn how to design digital systems in industry using FPGA platforms. Our special focus area is state machine design, but we cover also combinatorial gate networks. During the course we have practical exercies, in which you learn modern design methodologies and tools used in industry.

This course is the first in a series of three for professional digital systems engineering. In this course you learn schematic design entry. The next is TIE-50206 Logic Synthesis, in which you learn how to use VHDL and HDL languages in general. The third course is TIE-50506 System Design that includes also HW/SW co-design and modern model based design methodologies. The three courses might not be the easiest, but after them you are ready to start in a company as an FPGA/ASIC or embedded system design engineer.

Lessons

Period 1 - 2
Methods of instruction Luento, Harjoitusryhmä
Person responsible Timo D. Hämäläinen, Sakari Lahti

Assessment scale

Numerical evaluation scale (0-5)

Requirements

Passing the compulsory exercises and exam.

TIE-50106 Digital Design/Lec/01 Mon 26.08.2019 12:00 - 14:00
TIE-50106 Digital Design/Lec/01 Mon 02.09.2019 12:00 - 14:00
TIE-50106 Digital Design/Lec/01 Mon 09.09.2019 12:00 - 14:00
TIE-50106 Digital Design/Lec/01 Mon 16.09.2019 12:00 - 14:00
TIE-50106 Digital Design/Lec/01 Mon 23.09.2019 12:00 - 14:00
TIE-50106 Digital Design/Lec/01 Mon 30.09.2019 12:00 - 14:00
TIE-50106 Digital Design/Lec/01 Mon 07.10.2019 12:00 - 14:00
TIE-50106 Digital Design/Lec/01 Mon 21.10.2019 12:00 - 14:00
TIE-50106 Digital Design/Lec/01 Mon 28.10.2019 12:00 - 14:00
TIE-50106 Digital Design/Lec/01 Mon 04.11.2019 12:00 - 14:00
TIE-50106 Digital Design/Lec/01 Mon 11.11.2019 12:00 - 14:00
TIE-50106 Digital Design/Lec/01 Mon 18.11.2019 12:00 - 14:00
TIE-50106 Digital Design/Lec/01 Mon 25.11.2019 12:00 - 14:00
TIE-50106 Digital Design/Lec/01 Mon 02.12.2019 12:00 - 14:00
TIE-50106 Digital Design/EG01/01 Tue 10.09.2019 09:00 - 12:00
TIE-50106 Digital Design/EG01/01 Tue 10.09.2019 14:00 - 17:00
TIE-50106 Digital Design/EG01/01 Tue 17.09.2019 09:00 - 12:00
TIE-50106 Digital Design/EG01/01 Tue 17.09.2019 14:00 - 17:00
TIE-50106 Digital Design/EG01/01 Tue 08.10.2019 09:00 - 12:00
TIE-50106 Digital Design/EG01/01 Tue 08.10.2019 14:00 - 17:00
TIE-50106 Digital Design/EG01/01 Tue 29.10.2019 09:00 - 12:00
TIE-50106 Digital Design/EG01/01 Tue 29.10.2019 14:00 - 17:00
TIE-50106 Digital Design/EG01/01 Tue 12.11.2019 09:00 - 12:00
TIE-50106 Digital Design/EG01/01 Tue 12.11.2019 14:00 - 17:00
TIE-50106 Digital Design/EG01/01 Tue 03.12.2019 09:00 - 12:00
TIE-50106 Digital Design/EG01/01 Tue 03.12.2019 14:00 - 17:00
TIE-50106 Digital Design/EG04/01 Thu 26.09.2019 14:00 - 16:00
TIE-50106 Digital Design/EG04/01 Thu 03.10.2019 14:00 - 16:00
TIE-50106 Digital Design/EG04/01 Thu 24.10.2019 14:00 - 16:00
TIE-50106 Digital Design/EG04/01 Thu 07.11.2019 14:00 - 16:00
TIE-50106 Digital Design/EG04/01 Thu 21.11.2019 14:00 - 16:00
TIE-50106 Digital Design/EG05/01 Fri 27.09.2019 12:00 - 14:00
TIE-50106 Digital Design/EG05/01 Fri 04.10.2019 12:00 - 14:00
TIE-50106 Digital Design/EG05/01 Fri 25.10.2019 12:00 - 14:00
TIE-50106 Digital Design/EG05/01 Fri 08.11.2019 12:00 - 14:00
TIE-50106 Digital Design/EG05/01 Fri 22.11.2019 12:00 - 14:00

Study material

Type Name Author ISBN Additional information Language Examination material
Book Introduction to Digital Systems Ercegovac, Lang, Moreno 471527998 English Yes
Lecture slides Hämäläinen English Yes