BMT-53007 Computational Diagnostics, 5 cr

Implementation BMT-53007 2018-01

Description

After completing the course, the student gained a basic understanding of the definition and the meaning of computational diagnostics and its utility for data science. Case studies will be discussed illustrating the interplay between computational and statistical methods that are applied to large-scale and high-dimensional data sets from various domains, including genomic experiments and business data. Moreover, the student will learn how to practically approach such problems by using the statistical programming language R. In general, the course teaches statistical thinking in the context of data related problems, i.e., the adaptation of machine learning methods in a problem specific manner.

Lessons

Period 4
Methods of instruction Luento, Tentti, Harjoitukset
Person responsible Frank Emmert-Streib

Assessment scale

Numerical evaluation scale (0-5)

Requirements

To complete the course, the student is required to (all three requirements must be completed to pass the course):
a) Execute the project work (20% of the final grade)
b) Execute the weekly exercises (1 per exercises lesson, 40% of the final grade)
c) Do the final exam (40% of the final grade)

Exam Fri 03.05.2019 17:00 - 20:00
BMT-53007 Computational Diagnostics/Lec/02 Tue 12.03.2019 10:00 - 12:00
BMT-53007 Computational Diagnostics/Lec/01 Thu 14.03.2019 10:00 - 12:00
BMT-53007 Computational Diagnostics/Lec/02 Tue 19.03.2019 10:00 - 12:00
BMT-53007 Computational Diagnostics/Lec/01 Thu 21.03.2019 10:00 - 12:00
BMT-53007 Computational Diagnostics/Lec/02 Tue 26.03.2019 10:00 - 12:00
BMT-53007 Computational Diagnostics/Lec/01 Thu 28.03.2019 10:00 - 12:00
BMT-53007 Computational Diagnostics/Lec/02 Tue 02.04.2019 10:00 - 12:00
BMT-53007 Computational Diagnostics/Lec/01 Thu 04.04.2019 10:00 - 12:00
BMT-53007 Computational Diagnostics/Lec/02 Tue 09.04.2019 10:00 - 12:00
BMT-53007 Computational Diagnostics/Lec/01 Thu 11.04.2019 10:00 - 12:00
BMT-53007 Computational Diagnostics/Lec/02 Tue 16.04.2019 10:00 - 12:00
BMT-53007 Computational Diagnostics/Lec/01 Thu 25.04.2019 10:00 - 12:00
BMT-53007 Computational Diagnostics/E/01 Fri 15.03.2019 10:00 - 12:00
BMT-53007 Computational Diagnostics/E/01 Fri 22.03.2019 10:00 - 12:00
BMT-53007 Computational Diagnostics/E/01 Fri 29.03.2019 10:00 - 12:00
BMT-53007 Computational Diagnostics/E/01 Fri 05.04.2019 10:00 - 12:00
BMT-53007 Computational Diagnostics/E/01 Fri 12.04.2019 10:00 - 12:00
BMT-53007 Computational Diagnostics/E/01 Fri 26.04.2019 10:00 - 12:00

Study material

Type Name Author ISBN Additional information Language Examination material
Book An Introduction to Statistical Learning Gareth James, Daniela Witten, Trevor Hastie and Robert Tibshirani Introductory overview of many methods discussed in the lectures. English No
Book Statistics and Data Analysis for Microarrays Using R and Bioconductor Sorin Drăghici Introduction to the analysis of microarray data. English No