Physics - Tampere University of Technology


The main research areas of the Laboratory of Physics are Aerosol Physics and Computational Physics. The research is related to a wide range of fields, including environmental sciences, material physics, biophysics, and numerical algorithms. The Unit’s objective is to balance basic and industrially applicable research, and both are now performed with excellence in each of the research areas. The Unit is also strongly associated with the research and teaching at the Laboratory of Photonics.

The Aerosol Physics Unit is loosely organized into two groups that share equipment and researchers. The Instrumentation and Emissions Group (Prof. Jorma Keskinen) develops aerosol measurement methods and studies emission and atmospheric aerosols.The Aerosol Synthesis Group (Prof. Jyrki Mäkelä) uses thermal synthesis methods to produce single and multicomponent nanoparticles and to develop nanostructured functional coatings.

The Computational Physics Unit hosts five groups: Biological Physics Group (Prof. Ilpo Vattulainen), Spectroscopies of Complex Materials Group (Dr. Matti Lindroos), Materials and Molecular Modeling (Prof. Jaakko Akola), Electronic Structure Theory Group (Prof. Tapio Rantala) and Quantum Control and Dynamics Group (Prof. Esa Räsänen).  All fields of the unit interact with one another through the development and applications of novel methodology that ranges from quantum-mechanical ab-initio techniques to density functional theories and atomistic simulations as well as particle-based coarse-grained methods.

Updated by: Esa Räsänen, 02.02.2017 11:45.
Content owner: Laitinen Ari
Keywords: science and research, about tut