News and events - Tampere University of Technology

TUT undergoing structural reform at the start of 2017

Tampere University of Technology is being restructured. As of the start of 2017, TUT will no longer have departments. Instead, the university's research and teaching will be organised solely under faculties.

As a result of the structural reform entering into effect at the start of 2017, Tampere University of Technology's teaching and research will be organised solely under faculties, as a result of which the university's departments will cease to exist. As part of the reform, the departments are being replaced by laboratories. However, TUT's Pori Department will not be operating as a separate laboratory under the new organisational structure, as the department's staff are being reassigned to other laboratories.

The names of the university's four previous faculties, namely the Faculty of Engineering Sciences, the Faculty of Computing and Electrical Engineering, the Faculty of Business and Built Environment and the Faculty of Natural Sciences, will remain unchanged. In addition to these, TUT has established a Faculty of Biomedical Sciences and Engineering, which is a part of the joint TUT and University of Tampere BioMediTech institute.

From the beginning of 2017 onwards, the operations and finances of TUT’s faculties will be managed by full-time deans. The objective of the structural reform is to renew the management system in a way that allows the authority, responsibility and resources to converge more effectively than they do today. The new full-time deans as of the start of 2017 are Heli Harrikari (Faculty of Business and Built Environment), Jyrki Vuorinen (Faculty of Natural Sciences), Pauli Kuosmanen (Faculty of Engineering Sciences), Mika Grundström (Faculty of Computing and Electrical Engineering) and Minna Kellomäki (Faculty of Biomedical Sciences and Engineering).

News submitted by: Sanna Kähkönen
Keywords: about tut, structural reform