News and events - Tampere University of Technology

Professor Petri Vuoristo receives highest international honour in his field

American Society of Materials (ASM), the world's largest association of metals-centric materials engineers and scientists, has inducted TUT Professor Petri Vuoristo into their Thermal Spray Hall of Fame.
Professor Vuoristo is the Hall of Fame’s first ever Nordic inductee.
Professor Vuoristo is the Hall of Fame’s first ever Nordic inductee.

This is internationally regarded as the highest honour and mark of respect in the field. Induction into the Hall of Fame is awarded in recognition of significant contributions to the development of materials science and materials engineering, especially for his long term contributions for the advancement of thermal spray and related deposition technologies through worldwide education and practice.

“This is an achievement you really can’t plan or aim for. This is a great personal honour for me, but it’s also a recognition of the high quality of Finnish thermal spraying expertise,” Vuoristo says.

Professor Vuoristo’s research interests lie, among others, in the areas of thermal spray coating processing, laser cladding, and thin film processing. His research explores the interdependencies between various coating processes, micro- and macrostructures, and different technical properties and characteristics. The research is conducted in close collaboration with various research institutes and the industry. Joint research, product development, and innovation projects by TUT and VTT are conducted within the Thermal Spray Center Finland (TSCF) collaboration framework.

“Induction into the Hall of Fame is an incentive to continue this interesting and significant work in the field of thermal spraying and related coating technologies. We have a wonderful research group, working environment, and partners in research institutes and the industry both in Finland and abroad.”

The Thermal Spray Hall of Fame was founded in 1993. Professor Vuoristo is the Hall of Fame’s first ever Nordic inductee.  

This year, the award ceremony is held in connection with the ITSC conference in Düsseldorf, Germany, on June 8. In addition to Vuoristo, Professor Robert Vassen from Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH in Germany will also be inducted into the Hall of Fame.

In 2015, Professor Vuoristo was awarded the Fellows of ASM by the same organization.

More information:

Professor Petri Vuoristo, tel. +358 40 849 0044, petri.vuoristo (at)

Message from the President: ASM Thermal Spray Hall of Fame Inductees

News submitted by: Tuuli Laukkanen
Keywords: science and research, materials science, thermal spray, hall of fame