News and events - Tampere University of Technology

Nominate your candidate for the next Millennium Technology Prize by 31 July

The Technology Academy Finland (TAF) invites universities, research institutes and industrial organizations around the world to nominate candidates for the 2016 Millennium Technology Prize by 31 July 2015.

The Millennium Technology Prize is open to all fields of technology and citizens of all nationalities. The nominee can be an individual researcher or a research group.

One million euro Prize promoting sustainable growth

Awarded every two years, the one million euro Millennium Technology Prize is one of the largest technology prizes in the world.  It was awarded for the first time in 2004.

The Prize is awarded for technological innovations that help solve the great challenges of mankind and promote sustainable growth. The winning innovation must have a track record of practical applications and must accelerate further research.

The winners are leading researchers in their fields, typically at an active stage in their career. Two winners of the Millennium Technology Prize have subsequently been awarded the Nobel Prize: Shuji Nakamura, who was awarded the Millennium Technology Prize back in 2006 for inventing blue and white LEDs, received the Nobel Prize in Physics in 2014, and Shinya Yamanaka, stem cell researcher and winner of the 2012 Millennium Technology Prize, was awarded the Nobel Prize in Medicine in 2012.

“Awarded now for the seventh time, the Millennium Technology Prize has proved to be a trailblazer in technology awards. The prize has given the winning innovations global visibility and the attention of the science community, and has thereby supported the development of new solutions to the great challenges of mankind,” says Juha Ylä-Jääski, D.Sc. (Tech.), President and CEO of Technology Academy Finland.

Thorough evaluation process

Nominations for the Prize are reviewed and evaluated by an independent International Selection Committee composed of leading researchers representing different scientific disciplines and geographic areas. The key criteria in the evaluation process are that the innovation has proved to be beneficial to a large part of humankind and that it promotes sustainable growth.

After a thorough evaluation process, the Committee makes its recommendation on the winner to the Board of Technology Academy Finland, which selects the winner.

The International Selection Committee has eight members, and is always chaired by a Finnish member.  A minimum of two members change in every prize round.  The maximum term of a member is four rounds, or eight years.

The International Selection Committee 2015–2016 comprises the following members:

  • Professor Jarl-Thure Eriksson, Finland, Chairman of the Committee
  • Professor Jaakko Astola, Finland
  • Dr. Craig R. Barrett, USA
  • Dr. Hans-Joachim Freund, Germany
  • Academician Riitta Hari, Finland
  • Professor, Sir Peter Knight, UK
  • Research Professor Merja Penttilä, Finland
  • Dr. Ayao Tsuge, Japan
  • Dr. Juha Ylä-Jääski, Finland, Secretary of the Committee


Further information:

Juha Ylä-Jääski, President and CEO, Technology Academy Finland, tel. +358 40 903 0606

Niina Suhonen, Head of Communications & Marketing, Technology Academy Finland,

tel. +358 40 8439 439 +358 40 8439 438

Nomination of candidates

The nomination criteria and documents can be found online at The nomination documents must be in English and submitted to Technology Academy Finland by 31 July 2015. Detailed instructions and enquiries:

Nomination brochure

Nomination video

News submitted by: Anna Naukkarinen
Keywords: science and research, image and communications